Update on PATH OF THE DARK

It’s been a while since I posted an update on Book #3 of the Light and Darkness series. I’d been immersed in other projects but finally got back on track with PATH OF THE DARK a month ago … and now the first draft is done!

It’s 95,000 words, so a decent size for an Epic Fantasy Romance. I’m really pleased with the state of the first draft (often I know there’s still quite a bit of rewriting to be done … but it feels pretty cohesive this time around … famous last words!). This week I’m doing my pre-editing read-through. This is where I put on head phones and go through the whole manuscript, listening to each chapter on Word’s Text To Speech. This helps pick up errors, highlights any clunky speech, or areas that need improving. It’s a really good idea as listening to your story really makes things jump out at you. This process should take a week and then it’s off for a structural edit!

In the meantime, I’ve been busy getting other aspects of the book ready for publication. I’ve had a new cover designed (the previous one wasn’t quite right) and am really happy with this new version. Here it is:

Path_of_the_Dark_4

I’ve also been working on the blurb/Amazon description:

Can she follow her heart without betraying her people?

Ryana, an enchanter of the Order of Light and Darkness, has given her life to serving others. However, when she meets the son of a dictator sent to negotiate peace with her king she realizes that there’s something important missing from her life: love.

Elias of Anthor’s mission isn’t one of peace—he’s been sent to kill the king of Rithmar. But once his assassination attempt goes awry, Elias soon sees that the only one who actually cares if he lives or dies is an enigmatic sorceress: one who both tempts and frustrates him.

As a great battle between their kingdoms looms, Ryana and Elias both find themselves at a cross-roads. If they survive the coming war, a chance for a new life beckons. However, it will require them to have the courage to give up their old identities forever.


In addition to focusing on PATH OF THE DARK, I’ve been looking at the series as a whole. It has been a couple of years since Book #1, RULED BY SHADOWS, came out. Since then I’ve had feedback about RULED BY SHADOWS. The consensus is that although readers have enjoyed it, the heroine, Lilia, is a bit tOo fearful and timid for most readers. With that in mind, I’m doing a second edition of Book #1 (yes, I know that’s a lot of work!). I’m currently half-way through edits and am delighted with how it’s shaping up. I’m planning a relaunch to coincide with the launch of PATH OF THE DARK. This should be mid-September 2019 … so not far away!

Back soon with a pre-order link and launch date for PATH OF THE DARK!

Leave a comment